St Brendan's NS, Mullagh, Co. Galway

School History

History of Scoil Bhreandáin Naofa, Mullagh

Scoil Bhreandáin Naofa, Mullagh, named after the patron saint of the Diocese of Clonfert, welcomed its first pupils in 1939. Located between Ballinasloe and Loughrea, the school was built by Mr. Keane and traditionally served the surrounding farming community.

The school was renovated in the late 1980s, when the roof was repaired, new windows were installed and improved toilet facilities were added. In the early 1990s, further upgrades were made to the school grounds and storage areas.

A major extension was completed in 2007, providing three new classrooms, an office, a staffroom and special education rooms and major refurbishment works were completed on the original part of the school. This now accommodates a preschool and a general-purpose hall. Our outdoor facilities include a spacious playground, tennis court, basketball court and a full-sized pitch, offering pupils many opportunities for play and sport.

In response to growing enrolments, the school was granted funding to add an additional classroom in 2025, further enhancing our learning environment. Today, Scoil Bhreandáin Naofa benefits from modern facilities, including CleverTouch interactive screens in all mainstream classrooms and the main special education room.

To ensure our continued commitment to meeting our climate action goals , Solar panels were installed in 2024 and the new classroom is heated using energy-efficient heat pumps and is  equipped with additional solar panels, helping to make the school more environmentally sustainable.

Our dedicated staff team includes four mainstream class teachers, two support teachers, one Special Needs Assistant (SNA), a secretary, a cleaner and a catering assistant who manages the school meals programme.

Scoil Bhreandáin Naofa looks forward to continuing to provide a positive and engaging learning experience for children from the parish of Mullagh and the surrounding areas for many years to come.